Author Topic: Ecowitt Lightning detector  (Read 1090 times)

Offline Grymtr

Ecowitt Lightning detector
« on: August 15, 2024, 12:07:41 PM »
I am pretty new to this business of backyard weather, and recently purchased the WS90 kit, a couple of moisture sensors, and the "lightning detector".  I knew before I purchased it that many folks would like to toss it against a wall, but I took the chance hoping things would be different for me.  Seems I was wrong.  I cannot confirm if it works with actual lightning, because I have not had many storms roll off Lake Ontario this week, but I can confirm like many others, that I seem to be getting false positives.  That was expected, and no matter the DIP position, they just happen.  I can accept a couple, but when they do happen, and I have had many.  They are always 14km away.  Always.  I searched high and low, but other than the typical false positives, and dip switch configs, nobody else has mentioned what those distances are when they get the false positives.  What has your experience been?  Is it always the same distance?  When it does actually detect "REAL" lightning, do these distances change??

Offline broadstairs

• Forecaster
Re: Ecowitt Lightning detector
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2024, 12:31:17 PM »
I can confirm that mine works quite well. I get perhaps 1 or 2 false positives a month and yes It does detect strikes and give varying distances. I do find that some equipment can cause false detection but I'm talking about builders stuff like vibro rollers or other large equipment used when the do road repairs etc but otherwise not an issue for me, usually this stuff also causes interference on the TV as well!

Stuart
Ecowitt GW1003 with ultrasonic wind gauge, lightning sensor and PM2.5 sensor with Personal Weather Tablet as a console.

Offline Vasco

• Forecaster
    • PWS
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2024, 12:34:49 PM »
When it does actually detect "REAL" lightning, do these distances change??